Juice Fast… how I feel after 5 days without food

If you know me at all, you know that I love juicing. I’ve posted several recipes and even when I’m not on a hardcore cleanse, I juice frequently.

…But I also love to eat. And I eat like a lumberjack. It’s kind of sad actually. So, even though I lost 15 lbs earlier this year while embarking on a 30 day cleanse, I gained it all back. And I figured out what my deal is. I continue to eat even after I’m not hungry anymore. Part of me detests the idea of wasting food – because its expensive, because a lot of effort went into it, and because in my mind good food shouldn’t be thrown away! But because I’m aware of basic food safety hoarding isn’t my thing (homemade penicillin, anyone? gross!) so I eat it. ALL of it. I’m a certified member of the Clean Plate Club.

Anyhow so that’s how I got back to where I am. How to fix it? I need to break up with food. We can still be friends, but we don’t have a healthy relationship. Don’t get me wrong – the green stuff, the lean stuff, all organic……. those are excellent qualities. But, it’s just not working out the way I want it to.

Hence, the juice fast. Once I’m done with my fast – which will either last 2-3 weeks, or until I’m back down to where I want to be, whichever happens last – I will force myself to learn some serious portion control. I’m calling it “Preventive Portion Control“: Not just filling my plate and telling myself that I’ll stop when I’m no longer hungry. No, no… We’ve tried THAT one before. This go-round, it’s starting with the ingredients that hit the pan. Cooking smaller portions to start with, using smaller plates, chewing my food completely, and then when I’m no longer hungry, stopping. I have to remind myself: I can make this dish again. I can have leftovers tomorrow. It’s OK, Kat. It’s OK. And when I go out to eat, no matter what I order, half of it will go straight into a to-go box before I even take my first bite.

There. Now that those details are in order, let me tell you about my first 5 days.

I’ll start off by admitting that during my 30 day cleanse back in February I wasn’t as strict as I should have been. I cheated. More times than I’d like to admit. I would manage to go 2 days with nothing but juice and herbal tea, and then I’d get really effing hungry and I’d pilfer a few bites of whatever I could – leftover rice, a piece of bread, an egg, whatever. Because I wasn’t smart enough to empty out my fridge before I started (see above – I hate wasting food)  I knew something could be scrounged up. It was awful. I felt guilty every time and yet I just couldnt.stick.to.it. THIS time though I have done a fantastic job (in my humble opinion) of sticking to my guns and not squirreling food. Granted, I did have a glass of wine last night but surely fermented grape juice cant be THAT bad? I still feel bad about it and now that I have tomorrow off of work I wont need any aid in falling asleep because it wont matter what time I go to bed – I get to sleep in tomorrow!

Anyhow… The first time I did this I suffered from a massive detox headache for 2 days. This time, a slight dull ache every now and then but really nothing that limited my going to the gym or my ability to focus at work at all. Once my detox migraine was gone the first go-round, I dealt with crazy muscle and joint aches. I later learned that those pains were from old injuries healing themselves. This time though, I’ve felt fine. Not a single muscle spasm or ache. It’s so much better this time!
Best of all……… I haven’t really felt very hungry. Sure, at night I get that old monkey on my back telling me that I must have food. My stomach growls every now and again. But in general, I haven’t so much as felt the need to complain (other than a single Facebook post – a short one, late at night… shut up) to anyone that I was starving. I even went to “lunch” with my mom and brought a juice and sat and chatted while she ate. I had a little vegetable broth too, but I hear that’s allowed. I’ll admit, the bread sticks did look amazing… but my will power decided to show up and I prevailed!

So no, I’m still not perfect. And the weight isn’t exactly falling off me. 3ish pounds in 4 days isn’t bad but I’m like anyone else trying to lose a stone… instant gratification and magic results would be incredible. But I’m not complaining.

Also though, the whites of my eyes are clearer. So that’s cool. And I’m regular, which is a relief. Lets me know that my liver and intestines are getting all cleaned out and ready to start pulverizing the fat that clings to my inner thighs and the pooch in my belly. Fingers crossed… this is a truly new start for me. I will succeed, dammit.

Next week will be the truly hard part: I have to spend the week in Raleigh for a very stressful class -the final week of my Six Sigma Black Belt course, to be concluded with an exam that makes the SAT look like a cakewalk. Luckily there’s a juice bar kind of near to where I’ll be, but I’m going to pack up a cooler full of fruits and veggies (and go to Whole Foods as needed to replenish… yay! I’ll be in a city with a Whole Foods! And I totally intend to pick up some glorious meats and grains before I leave for when I’ve broken my fast and gotten back to normal eating). I’ll be packing up my juicer too of course (the hotel staff will LOVE me for that…), a cutting board, a knife, a scrub brush, some dish soap, and some glass bottles to take juice to class in…… yeah this is gonna be tough. Stress, a lot of preparation, all kinds of trials for me next week. But I can do it. At least I think I can…

tumblr_mg82qbugKl1rb2an4o1_500

Followup: Here’s a picture of my mini-fridge in the hotel room… what it looks like to juice on the road (hint: its not easy)

FxCam_1370901751281

About katnissg

In high school I was always in shape- i was on the swim team and could eat whatever I wanted. Then came college. Beer, pizza, macaroni and cheese, plus a dingy gym facility that made you feel you needed a shower before you even broke a sweat skyrocketed my weight up to nearly 200 lbs. 2 years after I graduated and had a steady job, I broke up with my boyfriend, moved closer to work (eliminating a 45 minute commute) and revolutionized the way I eat. I lost 60 lbs and felt amazing. These days I love learning about health, clean eating, and food activism. I am a Revolutionary Eater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

