Juicing Recipes

Here are a few of my absolute favorite recipes for juicing. Would work well as smoothies too though!
What I drink for breakfast every single day:
Image
3-4 peeled oranges
5 carrots
1 peeled lemon
1 peeled beet (i use a veggie peeler)
1 1-inch chunk of ginger
The combination makes the PRETTIEST colored drink. Bright sunset red! And the lemon and ginger give the orange such a nice zing, its almost reminiscent of russian tea.
Another great one that looks scarier than it tastes is…
1/2 of a whole pineapple
1/2 box of strawberries (about 1.5 cups i guestimate)
1/2 bunch of Kale or 1/2 box spinach or 1/2 red cabbage
Like i said… it looks kinda scary, but all you taste is the pineapple and a hint of strawberry.
Image
One that will be excellent this summer when its hot and nasty out is the following:
4-5 stalks celery
2-3 green apples
1/2 large, or 1 small cucumber
1/2 lime, optional
makes a super BRIGHT green juice thats tart and refreshingly sweet – but not too sweet!
 FxCam_1362012665225[1]
I also make a homemade “V8” juice, which will make a KILLER bloody mary soon as im allowed to drink alcohol again (god i miss beer)
1-2 tomatoes
1 peeled lemon
1 red pepper
1 green pepper
1 carrot
2-3 stalks celery
1 jalapeno (optional)
pinch celery salt
pinch cayenne (optional)
seriously….. throw some hot sauce and vodka in that bitch and we’re talking a real party!
A very interesting but pleasant juice that I discovered combined some flavors that you would THINK might be nasty, but, like buttered-popcorn-flavored-jelly-beans, it JUST WORKED:
1 Cucumber
3 Kale leaves
1-2 inches Ginger
3-4 Pears
1 Jalapeno
Small bunch parsley (pinch a few stalks in your fingers, thats how small a bunch… just a few stems’ worth) OR you could use mint, depending on whats on hand.
This next one is a mix between a smoothie and a juice, and it’s delicious.
FxCam_1363869834091
First, I juiced 3 carrots and a 1-inch chunk of ginger in my juicer.
Then I added the juice to the blender with:
1 sliced mango
1/4 cup shredded unsweetened organic coconut
1/2 cup organic vanilla yogurt
6-8 frozen organic strawberries
Blend it until smooth and creamy! It almost tastes like a mango dreamsicle (is that the way to spell that word?) perfect breakfast for a long day!
About katnissg

In high school I was always in shape- i was on the swim team and could eat whatever I wanted. Then came college. Beer, pizza, macaroni and cheese, plus a dingy gym facility that made you feel you needed a shower before you even broke a sweat skyrocketed my weight up to nearly 200 lbs. 2 years after I graduated and had a steady job, I broke up with my boyfriend, moved closer to work (eliminating a 45 minute commute) and revolutionized the way I eat. I lost 60 lbs and felt amazing. These days I love learning about health, clean eating, and food activism. I am a Revolutionary Eater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

